Phi Beta Kappa First Year Book Award

Past awardees include:

Awardee: Marvin Apeku
Award: Nate Silver’s The Signal and the Noise: Why So Many Predictions Fail – But Some Don’t

Venue: Fall Convocation, August 2014
Awardee: Joshua Hatfield
Award: Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher: The Epic Life and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis by Timothy Egan

Venue: Private Ceremony, February 2014
Awardee: Laura Allard
Award: A Summer of Hummingbirds: Love, Art, and Scandal in the Intersecting Worlds of Emily Dickinson, Mark Twain , Harriet Beecher Stowe, and Martin Johnson Heade by Christopher Benfey

Venue: PBK Visiting Scholar lecture, February 2013
Awardee: Mikayla Kravetz
Awardee: Melena Hagstrom
Award: Ginkgo: The Tree That Time Forgot by Sir Peter Crane (2012-2013 Visiting Scholar)

Venue:PBK Visiting Scholar lecture, October 2011
Awardee: Melissa Fortin
Award: Why Do Men Barbecue? Recipes for a Cultural Psychology by Richard Shweder (2011-2012 Visiting Scholar)

Venue:Fall Convocation, August 2010
Awardee: Kathryn Shriver
Award: Lives of a Cell: Notes of a Biology Watcher by Lewis Thomas

Venue:Fall Convocation, August 2009 (Inaugural Award)
Awardee: Emily A. Young
Awardee: Louis Matthew DiSalvo
Award: Your Inner Fish: A Journey into the 3.5-Billion-Year History of the Human Body by Neil Shubin (2008 winner of the ΦΒΚ Science Book Award)
Award: Plows, Plagues, and Petroleum: How Humans Took Control of Climate by William F. Ruddiman (2006 winner of the ΦΒΚ Science Book Award)