Women's Cross Country

October 29, 2011

COBLESKILL, N.Y. – Freshmen Emily Middlebrook (Newark, N.Y.) led the Wells College women’s cross country team to a third place finish (72 points) at the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Championship held Saturday at SUNY Cobleskill in Cobleskill, N.Y. Middlebrook made it a clean sweep of the post-season awards, earning NEAC Runner of the Year, NEAC Rookie of the Year, and NEAC First Team All-Conference, besting the field of 82 runners by over 10-seconds finishing with a time of 19:28.95.


SUNY Cobleskill took the overall nine team championship with 36 points while Cazenovia placed second with 68 points.


The Express had a total of eight runners compete in the championship. Lindsey Guzewicz (Auburn, N.Y.) placed eighth with a time 20:48.95 and Brienne Goodson (Deansboro, N.Y.) placed 13th with a time of 21:21.56, earning both runners a selection to the NEAC All-Conference Second Team.


Anastasia Benson (Rockford, Ill.) placed 33rd with a time of 22:59.54, Veronica Frisenda placed 36th with a time of 23:18.49, Sarah Deschenes (Keene, N.H.) placed 52nd with a time of 25:16.51, Tara Wild (Gardiner, N.Y.) crossed the finish line in 53rd place with a time of 25:23.13, and Danielle King (Webster, N.Y.) placed 80th with a time of 31:28.66 to round out the highlights for the Express.


Head Coach Julie Bailey was also named NEAC Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year by a panel of her peers. Bailey helped lead the women’s team to one first place finish and five top five finishes on the season.

Our mission is for every student to think critically, reason wisely and act humanely as they cultivate meaningful lives. On our beautiful lakeside campus, students gain the knowledge, skills and experience to create their own unique path.

170 Main Street, Aurora, NY 13026
Admissions: 800.952.9355 | admissions@wells.edu
General Information: 315.364.3266
© 2021 Wells College
The following email addresses are a honeypot intended to test automated bots' ability to parse encoded addresses. Please do not contact these addresses. sgamgee@wells.edu fbaggins@wells.edu