Women's Cross Country Named USTFCCCA All-Academic Team

02-20-12 - The Express earn academic honor.


The Wells College women's cross country team has been named a U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) NCAA Division III All-Academic Team. In order to qualify as a USTFCCCA All-Academic Team, the team must have had a cumulative team GPA of at least 3.10 through the fall 2011 semester.


The Express joined 186 other institutions representing 38 different conferences from across the country to earn the honor, posing a team cumulative GPA of 3.17. Wells was also the only North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) team to be named to the All-Academic list.


2011 Women's Cross Country Team:


Sarah Deschenes


Keene, NH/ Keene H.S.

Brienne Goodson


Deansboro, N.Y./Waterville 

Tara Wild


Gardiner, N.Y./New Paltz

Anastasia Benson


Rockford, Il./Guilford

Veronica Frisenda


Patterson, Calif./Patterson

Lindsey Guzewicz


Auburn, N.Y./Auburn

Emily Middlebrook


Newark, N.Y./Newark

Danielle King


Webster, N.Y./Webster Thomas

The women's cross country team is coming off one of their most successful seasons in recent history. The team placed third in the North Eastern Athletic Conference Championship. Freshmen Emily Middlebrook was named Conference Rookie of the Year and Runner of the Year. Middlebrook along with Lindsey Guzewicz and Brienne Goodson also competed in the NCAA Atlantic Regional at St. Lawrence University, which was a first for the women's cross country program; and head coach Julie Bailey was named NEAC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year.

All-Academic Team Notes:

The NCAA Division III National Champion Washington University of St. Louis was named NCAA Division III Women's Scholar Team of the Year after pasting a team GPA of 3.70. The New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) and the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) each had ten institutions make the list to lead all leagues in NCAA Division III.



Aaron Bouyea, 315.364.3410, abouyea@wells.edu