Muin Uddin

Muin Uddin, Professor of Economics and Management

It's as if you're working as part of a family. I know each student's strengths and weaknesses and, most importantly, I know when they're capable of doing better. I can support them and help them move in the direction of their full potential.


Faculty

Karl AlexanderLecturer in History. 
B.A., Nazareth College; M.A., Ph.D., University of Kentucky. 
Macmillan 107A; Phone: 315.364.3336; E-mail: kalexander@wells.edu

Nicomedes AlonsoVisiting Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science. 
B.S., California Institute of Technology; M.S., Ph.D., Montana State University. 
Macmillan 106; Phone: 315.364.3214; E-mail: nalonso@wells.edu

Christopher T. BaileyProfessor of Chemistry. 
B.S., Beloit College; Ph.D., University of Vermont. 
Stratton 217; Phone: 315.364.3286; E-mail: cbailey@wells.edu

Michael BixlerLecturer in Book Arts. 
B.A., Rochester Institute of Technology. 
Morgan 6Phone: 315.364.3420; E-mail: mbixler@wells.edu

Kristy Blake-Hodek, Assistant Professor of Biology.
B.A., St. Olaf College, Ph.D. Cornell University.
Stratton Hall 202; Phone: 315.364.3269; E-mail: kblake@wells.edu

Wayne Brewer, Lecturer in Criminal Justice.  
B.A., Cornell University; M.S., University of Connecticut. 
Cleveland 201; Phone: 315.364.3301; E-mail: dbrewer@wells.edu

Catherine Burroughs, Professor of English; Ruth and Albert Koch Professor of Humanities. 
B.A., Wake Forest University; M.A., Connecticut College; Ph.D., Emory University. 
Macmillan 319; Phone: 315.364.3247; E-mail: cburroughs@wells.edu

Laura Campbell, Lecturer in Music.  
B.M., Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville, B.A., Ithaca College; M.S., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. 
Barler 115; Phone: 315.364.3281; E-mail: lcampbell@wells.edu

Jenny Caplan, Lecturer in Religion.
B.A., Wellesley College, M.T.S., Harvard Divinity School.
Macmillan Hall 315; Phone: 315.364.3294; E-mail: jcaplan@wells.edu

Bailey Colvin, Lecturer in Italian.
B.A., Cornell University, M.S.T., State University of New York at Cortland.
Cleveland 201; Phone: 315.364.3301; E-mail: bcolvin@wells.edu

Gerardo Cummings, Assistant Professor of Spanish.
B.A., M.A., Ph.D., Wayne State University.
Cleveland Hall 211; Phone: 315.364.3306; E-mail: gcummings@wells.edu

Wendy DeBoer, Lecturer in Religion.
B.A., Hastings College; J.D., University of Nebraska Law; M.A., University of Nebraska at Omaha; M.A., Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago.
Macmillan 107B; Phone: 315.364.3367; E-mail: wdeboer@wells.edu

Joseph DeForest, Lecturer in Performing Arts.
B.A., State University of New York at Cortland. 
Phipps Auditorium; Phone: 315.364.3233; E-mail: jdeforest@wells.edu

Siouxsie EasterAssociate Professor of Theatre.  
B.A., University of Montevallo; M.Ed., University of North Carolina, Greensboro; M.F.A., Goddard College. 
2nd Floor Phipps; Phone: 315.364.3232; E-mail: seaster@wells.edu

Jody Feavearyear,  Lecturer in Math and Physics.  
B.S., State University of New York at Buffalo; B.S., Rochester Institute of Technology; M.S., Florida International University. 
Stratton 207; Phone: 315.364.3287; E-mail: jfeavearyear@wells.edu

Brad Frazier,  Associate Professor of Philosophy and Religion.  
B.A., Lee University; M.A., Reformed Theological Seminary; Ph.D., Saint Louis University. 
Macmillan 308; Phone: 315.364.3341; E-mail: bfrazier@wells.edu

Deborah A. Gagnon, Associate Professor of Psychology.  
B.A., M.A., Ph.D., University of Buffalo. 
Zabriskie 308; Phone: 315.364.3307; E-mail: dgagnon@wells.edu

Barbara Galli,  Lecturer in Book Arts.  
Morgan 33; Phone: 315.364.3420; E-mail: bgalli@wells.edu

Cynthia Garrett, Professor of English. John D. Wilson Presidential Professor.  
B.A. University of California at San Diego; M.A., San Francisco State University; Ph.D., University of California at Irvine. 
Macmillan 303; Phone: 315.364.3250; E-mail: cgarrett@wells.edu

Jeanne GoddardProfessor of Dance and Robert D. and Henrietta T. Campbell '12 Professor.  
B.A., State University of New York at Binghamton; M.A., State University of New York at Brockport; C.M.A., Laban/Bartenieff Institute. 
Barler 113; Phone315.364.3213; E-mail: jgoddard@wells.edu

Michael Gorr, Visiting Professor of Philosophy.
B.A., Dartmouth, A.M., Brown University, Ph.D., Brown University.
Macmillan Hall 104;   Phone: 315.364.3294; E-mail: mgorr@wells.edu

Jonathan Greene, Entrepreneur-in-Residence

B.S., Cornell University, M.S., University of Michigan, M.B.A., Cornell University.
Stratton 212; Phone: 315.364.3270; Email: jgreene@wells.edu

Michael Groth, Professor of History. Frances Tarlton Farenthold Presidential Professor.  
B.A., Williams College; M.A., Ph.D., Binghamton University. 
Macmillan 103; Phone: 315.364.3302; E-mail: mgroth@wells.edu

Lisa Kahaleole HallAssociate Professor of Women's Studies.  
B.A., Yale University; M.A., Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley. 
Cleveland 202; Phone: 315.364.3272; E-mail: lhall@wells.edu

Scott W. Heinekamp, Professor of Physics; 3/2 Engineering Advisor.  
B.S., M.S., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; Ph.D., Brown University. 
Stratton 302; Phone: 315.364.3361; E-mail: scotth@wells.edu 

Ann L. HerzigVisiting Assistant Professor of Biology and Environmental Studies.  
B.S., University of California, Davis, Ph.D., Cornell University. 
Stratton 201; Phone: 315.364.3271; E-mail: aherzig@wells.edu

Cynthia HoganLecturer in Religion.  
B.A., Wells College; M.A., North Carolina State University; M.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. 
Macmillan 102; Phone: 315.364.3278; E-mail: chogan@wells.edu

Thomas HughesLecturer in Biology.  
B.S., Cornell University; M.S., State University of New York at Brockport; M.P.S., State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry. 
Stratton 101; Phone: 315.364.3280; E-mail: thughes@wells.edu

Christine IacobucciLecturer in Sociology.  
B.A., State University of New York at Oneonta; M.A., Ph.D., University at Albany. 
Macmillan 104; Phone: 315.364.3294; E-mail: ciacobucci@wells.edu

Carl Johengen, Choir Director.

Master of Music, Ithaca College; Doctor of Musical Arts, Eastman School of Music
Barler 111; Phone: 315.364.3347; E-mail: cjohengen@wells.edu

Elizabeth Juarez-Cummings, Visiting Lecturer in Spanish.

B.A., Universidad Internacional; M.A., Cleveland State University; M.A., Ph.D., Indiana University.
Cleveland 210; Phone: 315.364.3305; E-mail: cjohengen@wells.edu

Kent Alan KlitgaardProfessor of Economics and Patti McGill Peterson Professor of Social Sciences.  
B.A., San Diego State University; M.A., Ph.D., University of New Hampshire. 
Macmillan 328B; Phone: 315.364.3231; E-mail: kentk@wells.edu

Cynthia J. Koepp, Professor of History; Chair, Division of Arts and Humanities.
B.A., M.A., University of Toledo; Ph.D., Cornell University. 
Macmillan 105; Phone: 315.364.3224; E-mail: cjkoepp@wells.edu

Rita Leduc, Lecturer in Visual Arts.

B.A., University of Pennsylvania; M.F.A., Rutgers University.
Morgan 21; Phone: 315.364.3420; E-mail: rleduc@wells.edu

Sara Levy, Visiting Assistant Professor of Education.

B.A. and M.A., Clark University, Ph.D., University of Minnesota.
Macmillan Hall 112; Phone: 315.364.3211; E-mail: slevy@wells.edu

Linda M. Lohn, Associate Professor of English; National Endowment for the Humanities Preceptor in Writing. 
A.B., Stanford University; M.S., University of Southern California; M.A., C.Phil, Ph.D., University of California at Los Angeles. 
Macmillan 301; Phone: 315.364.3314; E-mail: lmlohn@wells.edu 

Theodore LossowskiProfessor of Art. 
B.S., State University of New York at Brockport; M.F.A., Rochester Institute of Technology. 
Campbell Arts Building; Phone: 315.364.3344; E-mail: tlossowski@wells.edu

Mark LucasLecturer in ESL. 
B.S., Rochester Institute of Technology; B.A., M.S.Ed., State University of New York at Brockport. 
Cleveland 201; E-mail: mlucas@wells.edu

Tukumbi Lumumba-Kasongo, Professor of Political Science.  
B.A. and Agrégation, Université Libre du Congo; M.A., Harvard University; M.A., Ph.D., University of Chicago. 
Cleveland 108; Phone: 315.364.3220; E-mail: tl-k@wells.edu 

Sarah Markowitz Assistant Professor of Psychology
B.A., Brown University, M.S. and Ph.D., Rutgers. 
Zabriskie 208; Phone: 315.364.3496; E-mail: smarkowitz@wells.edu

Matthew McCabeLecturer in Business and Management.
B.A., State University of New York at Buffalo, M.B.A., Syracuse University School of Management, J.D., Syracuse University College of Law. 
Zabriskie 201B; Phone: 315.364.3282; E-mail: mmccabe@wells.edu

Laura McClusky, Professor of Sociology and Anthropology.
B.A., M.A., Ph.D.,  State University of New York at Buffalo. 
Zabriskie 304; Phone: 315.364.3252; E-mail: lmcclusky@wells.edu

Dennis Merryfield, Lecturer in Business.
B.A., Penn State University; M.A., Cornell University.
Macmillan 213; Phone: 315.364.3250; E-mail: dmerryfield@wells.edu

Gregory Moore, Visiting Assistant Prof. of Mathematics.
B.A., LeMoyne College; M.S., Ph.D., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.
Macmillan 104; Phone: 315.364.3214; E-mail: gmoore@wells.edu

Milene Z. Morfei, Professor of Psychology and Ida Dorothea Atkinson Professor. 
B.A., Wells College; M.S., Ph.D., Syracuse University. 
Zabriskie 210; Phone315.364.3255; E-mail: mzmorfei@wells.edu

Vic Muñoz, Professor of Psychology and Gender Studies. 
B.A., M.Ed., University of Massachusetts; C.A.S., Ed.D., Harvard University. 
Cleveland 203; Phone: 315.364.3248; E-mail: vmunoz@wells.edu

Burt Nadler, Lecturer in Career Counseling. 
B.A., University of Pennsylvania; M.A., Stanford University; M.S., Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania. 
Stratton 304; E-mail: bnadler@wells.edu

Michael O'Brien, Lecturer in Sport Management. 
B.S., State University of New York at Brockport; M.S., East Carolina University. 
Schwartz 2nd Floor; Phone315.364.3421; E-mail: mobrien@wells.edu

Niamh O'Leary, Professor of Environmental Studies.  
B.S., University College, Cork, Ireland; Ph.D., Cornell University. 
Stratton 321; Phone: 315.364.3279; E-mail: noleary@wells.edu 

Ernest G. Olson, Professor of Anthropology and Religion.  
B.A., University of Montana; M.A., Ph.D., University of Arizona. 
Zabriskie 305; Phone: 315.364.3206; E-mail: eolson@wells.edu

Lauren O'Neil, Assistant Professor of Chemistry.
B.S., St. John Fisher; Ph.D., University of Notre Dame.
Stratton 301; Phone: 315.364.3268; E-mail: loneil@wells.edu

Maimouna Harouna Phelan, Lecturer in French.
B.A., University of Niamey, M.A., Ithaca College.
Cleveland 207; Phone: 315.364.3487; E-mail: mphelan@wells.edu

Kurt Pipa, Lecturer in Japanese. 
B.A., Berklee College of Music; Advanced Japanese language studies, Incal Education Language Institute, Nagano, Japan. 
Cleveland 209; Phone: 315.364.3303; E-mail: kpipa@wells.edu

Mona Pohen, Lecturer in German.
B.A., Hochschule der Künste, Brunswick, Germany; M.A., Dr. phil., Ruhr-University,  Bochum, Germany.
Cleveland Hall 100; Phone: 315.364.3462; E-mail: mpohen@wells.edu

Russell Posegate, Lecturer in Music. 
B.A., M.A., Ithaca College.  
Barler 112; Phone:315.364.3343;  E-mail: rposegate@wells.edu

Judith Pratt, Lecturer in Theatre. 
B.A., Tufts University; M.A., University of Iowa; Ph.D., University of Nebraska.  
Phipps; Phone:315.364.3232;  E-mail: jpratt@wells.edu

Daniel G. Renfrow, Associate Professor of Sociology. 
B.A., Eastern Kentucky University; M.A., Ph.D., University of Washington. 
Zabriskie 008; Phone: 315.364.3340; E-mail: drenfrow@wells.edu

Jeremy Riedl, Lecturer in English. 
A.A., Paul Smith's College and State University of New York at Morrisville; B.A., M.A., State University of New York at Cortland; M.S., State University of New York at Potsdam. 
Macmillan 107A; Phone: 315.364.3336; E-mail: jriedl@wells.edu

Jenna Rodriguez, Victor Hammer Fellow in the Book Arts. 
B.F.A., Old Dominion University; M.F.A., Columbia College. 
Morgan 32; Phone: 315.364.3436; E-mail: jrodriguez@wells.edu

Dan Rosenberg, Visiting Assistant Professor of English. 
B.A., Tufts University; M.F.A., University of Iowa; Ph.D., University of Georgia. 
Macmillan 317; E-mail: drosenberg@wells.edu

Debora Ryan, Lecturer in Museum Studies.
B.A., Nazareth College, M.A., Syracuse University.
Morgan 21; Phone: 315.364.3420; E-mail: dryan@wells.edu

Erinn Ryen, Lecturer in Business.
B.S., Cornell University, M.P.A., Syracuse University, M.S., College of Environmental Science and Forestry.
Zabriskie 201C; Phone: 315.364.3270; E-mail: eryen@wells.edu

Christina Schmidt, Visiting Assistant Professor of Biology.  
B.S., University of Minnesota Twin Cities; M.S., Indiana State University; Ph.D., Auburn University. 
Stratton 213; Phone: 315.364.3473; E-mail: cschmidt@wells.edu

Jaclyn L. Schnurr, Associate Professor of Biology; Chair, Division of Natural and Mathematical Sciences 
B.S., Cornell University; Ph.D., Idaho State University. 
Stratton 315; Phone: 315.364.3274; E-mail: jschnurr@wells.edu

Gehan Shanmuganathan, Assistant Professor of Business.  
B.Sc., University of Colombo; M.B.A., University of Cardiff; D.B.A., Jones International University. 
Zabriskie 201A; Phone: 315.364.3239; E-mail: gshanmuganathan@wells.edu

Elliott Smith, Lecturer in Psychology.
A.B., Davidson College, M.S., Villanova University, Ph.D., Cornell University.
Zabriskie 209, Phone: 315.364.3496; Email:  esmith@wells.edu

Thomas A. Stiadle, Associate Professor of Mathematics.  
B.A., B.S., Case Western Reserve University; Ph.D., Cornell University. 
Macmillan 114; Phone: 315.364.3212; E-mail: tstiadle@wells.edu

Benjamin Sullivan, Lecturer in History.
B.A., St. John's College, M.A., Vanderbilt University, Ph.D., University of California.
Macmillan 311, Phone: 315.364.3336; Email:  bsullivan@wells.edu

Susan Tabrizi, Associate Professor of Political Science; Chair: Division of Social Sciences 
B.A., Utica College of Syracuse University; M.A., University of South Carolina; M.A., Ph.D., State University of New York at Stony Brook. 
Macmillan 107A; Phone: 315.364.3472; E-mail: stabrizi@wells.edu

M. Muin UddinProfessor of Economics.  
B.Sc., M.Sc., Jahangirnagar University, Bangladesh; M.A., Ph.D., Syracuse University. 
Macmillan 324; Phone: 315.364.3320; E-mail: muddin@wells.edu

Susan TalbotLecturer in Education and Director of Childhood and Adolescent Education. 
B.A., State University of New York at Oswego; M.S., Syracuse University. 
Macmillan 108; Phone: 315.364.3246; E-Mail: stalbot@wells.edu

Laura Tomasevich, Assistant Visiting Professor of Chemistry.  
B.A., Washington and Jefferson College; M.S., Ph.D., Cornell University. 
Stratton 201; E-mail: llt42@cornell.edu

Winnie Tsang, Lecturer in Art History.  
B.A., M.Phil., University of Hong Kong; A.M., Washington University in St. Louis. 
Morgan 23A; Phone: 315.364.3465; E-mail: wtsang@wells.edu

Nicole Waldschmidt, Lecturer in Psychology.  
B.A., Wells College; M.A., Medaille College. 
E-mail: nwaldschmidt@wells.edu

Michael Wansor, Lecturer in Business. 
B.S., State University of New York at Fredonia. 
Stratton 209; Phone: 315.364.3359; E-Mail: mwansor@wells.edu

Susan Wansor, Instructor and Field Experience Coordinator in Education. 
B.A., State University of New York Fredonia; M.S., Towson State University. 
Macmillan 100A; Phone: 315.364.3359; E-Mail: swansor@wells.edu

Katie Waugh, Assistant Professor of Studio Art.
B.A., Graceland University, M.A., Savannah College of Art and Design, M.F.A., School of the Art Institute of Chicago.
Campbell Fine Arts; Phone: 315.364.3237; E-mail: kwaugh@wells.edu

Elizabeth Wilmot-Bishop, Lecturer in Dance.
Training: New York City Ballet, Syracuse Ballet Theater and School, and more; Certification: Hartford School of Ballet.
Phipps 2nd Floor; Phone: 315.364.3232; E-mail: ebishop@wells.edu

 

Additional Academic Program Staff

Marian Brown, Director, Center for Sustainability and the Environment.
B.S., State University of New York at Brockport; M.S., Ithaca College.
Zabriskie 213; Phone: 315.364.3304; E-mail: mbrown@wells.edu

Richard Kegler, Director, Book Arts Center.
B.F.A., M.A.H., State University of New York at Buffalo.
Morgan 6; Phone: 315.364.3420; E-mail: rkegler@wells.edu

Megan Riedl, Coordinator of Learning Support Services.
B.A., M.A., State University of New York at Potsdam.
Long Library; Phone: 315.364.3432; E-mail: mriedl@wells.edu

N. André Siamundele, Registrar and Director of the Dakar Program. 
B.A., M.A., University of Zaire; M. Phil., M.A., Ph.D., Yale University. 
Macmillan 204; Phone: 315.364.3215; E-mail: asiamundele@wells.edu

Amy StaplesDirector of International Programs. 
B.A., University of Vermont; M.A., Johns Hopkins University; Ph.D., Cornell University. 
Cleveland 212; Phone: 315.364.3258; E-mail: astaples@wells.edu

 

Recent Emeritae/i

Bruce Bennett, Professor of English and Director of Creative Writing Program and Writing Center Coordinator.  
A.B., A.M., Ph.D., Harvard University. 
Macmillan 309; Phone: 315.364.3228; E-mail: brbennett@wells.edu

Candace Whitmer CollmerProfessor Emerita of Biology.  
B.S., Mary Washington College of the University of Virginia; M.S., Ph.D., Cornell University. 
E-mail: ccollmer@wells.edu

Waltraut Deinert, Professor Emerita of German.  
B.A., Queens College; M.A., University of Wisconsin; Ph.D., Yale University. 
E-mail: wdeinert@wells.edu

Beatrice Brodsky Farnsworth, Professor Emerita of History
B.A., Indiana University; M.A., Ph.D., Yale University.
E-mail: bfarnsworth@wells.edu

Margaret FlowersProfessor Emerita of Biology. 
A.B., Mount Holyoke College; Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin. 
E-mail: mflowers@wells.edu

Miguel L. Gil, Professor Emeritus of Spanish. 
B.A., Rutgers University; M.A., University of Texas; Ph.D., Cornell University. 
E-mail: mgil@wells.edu

Pilar Greenwood, Professor Emerita of Spanish. 
Licenciatura en Filosofia Letras, Universidad de Madrid, Spain; M.A., University of Pittsburgh; M.A., Ph.D., Cornell University.  
E-mail: pgreenwood@wells.edu

Lydie J. Haenlin, Professor Emerita of French.  
Licence d'Enseignement des Lettres Modernes, University of Paris; Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo. 
E-mail: lhaenlin@wells.edu

Spencer H. Hildahl, Professor Emeritus of Sociology. 
B.S., M.S., Iowa State University; M.A., Ph.D., Cornell University. 
E-mail: shildahl@wells.edu

Diane Koester, Professor Emerita of German.  
B.A., Valparaiso University; M.A., Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University. 
Email: dkoester@wells.edu

Kenneth E. Larson, Professor Emeritus of German.
A.B., University of Kansas; Ph.D., Yale University. 
E-mail: klarson@wells.edu

Leslie Miller-Bernal, Professor Emerita of Sociology.
B.A., M.A., State University of New York at Stony Brook; Ph.D., Cornell University. 

Laura Purdy, Professor Emerita of Philosophy.  
B.A., M.A., San Jose State University; Ph.D., Stanford University. 
E-mail: lpurdy@wells.edu

William E. Roberts Jr., Professor Emeritus of Art. 
B.F.A., M.A., Kent State University. 
E-mail: wroberts@wells.edu

Linda Schwab '73Professor Emerita of Chemistry.
B.A., Wells College; Ph.D., University of Rochester. 
E-mail: lschwab@wells.edu

Arnold Shilepsky, Professor Emeritus of Mathematics. 
A.B., Wesleyan University; Ph.D., University of Wisconsin. 
E-mail: ashilepsky@wells.edu 

Carol Shilepsky, Professor Emerita of Mathematics and Computer Science.  
B.A., Connecticut College; M.A., Ph.D., University of Wisconsin. 
E-mail: cshilepsky@wells.edu

Aurelio A. Torres, Professor Emeritus of Psychology.
Bachiller en Letras, Instituto de Marianao; Ph.D., University of Havana; Ph.D., University of Minnesota. 
E-mail: atorres@wells.edu

Crawford R. Thoburn, Professor Emeritus of Music. 
B.A., Allegheny College; Mus.M., Boston University. 
E-mail: cthoburn@wells.edu 

A. Thomas VawterProfessor Emeritus of Biology.  
B.S., University of California; Ph.D., Cornell University. 
E-mail: tvawter@wells.edu
 

 

 
©